Mask Up! In response to Governor Murphy reinstating a public health emergency, we would like to remind all members and guests of our mask policy. Masks are required for ALL entering the JCC, in common areas and hallways regardless of vaccination status. Please come with your own mask, adjust over nose and mouth prior to entering our building. We appreciate your support in keeping our community safe.

Who We Are

The Kaplen JCC on the Palisades is a welcoming home away from home for all who pass through its front doors

Sky view of the KJCC building.

Our 185,000 square foot building plus acres of outside grounds feature two fitness centers, an indoor and outdoor aquatics center, group exercise, spin and pilates studios, two gymnasiums, tennis and racquet courts, indoor track, a luxurious spa, multiple playgrounds and fields and so much more.

The JCC is home to the renowned Thurnauer School of Music, Leonard and Syril Rubin Nursery School, Neil Klatskin Summer Camps, and the JCC Dance and Drama Schools. The JCC is also proud to offer extensive, high-quality programs and services to adults of all ages, as well as to seniors and individuals with special needs.

Boy holding plate and Israeli flag.


Our vision is to be the center point of Jewish life in our community and to engage all generations in our mission and values.


Deeply rooted in Jewish values and tradition, the Kaplen JCC on the Palisades is a vibrant home for the Jewish People that welcomes all and cultivates the social, intellectual, physical and spiritual well-being of the entire community.

People swimming in individual pool lanes.


We are committed to demonstrating the following values and ask respect for these values from those with whom we interact:

  • Community
  • Connection to Judaism and Israel
  • Integrity
  • Quality
  • Respect
  • Responsbility
  • Safety
  • Tikkun Olam (repairing the world)

Inclusion & Diversity

The Kaplen JCC on the Palisades is committed to being an inclusive community, encouraging all who come through our doors to participate in all JCC programs and classes, creating a safe space where “All Are Welcome.”

Our goal is to provide an environment where we honor the dignity of all members within our diverse community and provide opportunities to reach his/her/their own potential. We are also committed to fostering a sense of well-being and a true spirit of belonging for all.

We are committed to the belief that all community members have access to appropriate social, recreational, cultural and educational experiences in a natural community setting. Our programs, classes and summer camps are designed to provide appropriate individual supports within the natural environment, and to work toward meeting the specific needs of each person.

The Kaplen JCC is committed to accessibility and is an ADA compliant handicapped-accessible facility. For more information of if you have any accessibility needs, please contact Shelley Levy at 201.408.1489 or

Inclusion is belonging.



Jodi Scherl, Interim Chair*
Miriam Chilton, Interim Chief Executive Officer
Michael Kollender, Vice President*
Jeffrey Levitt, Vice President*
Eileen Pleva, Vice President*
Benay Taub, Vice President*
Josh Weingast, Vice President*
Arthur Sinensky, Treasurer*
Craig Barnett, Secretary*

* Executive Committee

Board of Directors

Rona Anhalt
Becky Canarick
Hillel Caplan
Orly Chen
Dan Cohn
Alissa Epstein
Nancy Epstein*
Noah Garden
Matt Golub
Mark Hirschberg
Vivian Holzer
Ariel Jacobs
Andrew Kent
Phyllis Kesslen
Lisa Beth Meisel
Dan Oelsner
Elana Prezant
Mark Rottenberg
Brandi Rubin
Jennifer Schiffman
Caryn Sherry
Jillian Somberg
Ira Taub
Iris Wormser
Eyal Yechezkell
Barry Zeller

* Executive Committee

Board of Trustees

Edward A. Grossmann, Chair*
Martin Bernstein
Nancy G. Brown
Merle Fish
Gayle Gerstein
Dr. Sandra Gold
Tina Guberman*
Richard Kurtz
Dr. Martin S. Levitt
Robin Miller*
Susan Penn
Myron Rosner
JoJo Rubach*
Daniel Rubin*
Pearl Seiden
Mark Shirvan
Stanley Shirvan

* Executive Committee

Past Presidents

George Feinberg z”l, 1947-48
Max Grobow z”l, 1948-49
Benjamin Casser z”l, 1949-58
Eugene Jacobson z”l, 1958-59
Ned Feldman z”l, 1959-62
Arthur Fisher z”l, 1962-66
Leonard Rubin z”l, 1966-70
Al Feltman z”l, 1970-74
James H. Grossmann z”l, 1974
Ira Fish z”l, 1974-76
Eleanor Epstein z”l, 1976-80
Henry Taub z”l, 1980-84
Charles Klatskin z”l, 1984-88
Dr. Sandra Gold, 1988-92
Dr. Martin S. Levitt, 1992-96
Edward A. Grossmann, 1996-00
Nancy I. Brown, 2000-04
Daniel Rubin, 2004-07
Robin Miller, 2007-10
Pearl Seiden, 2010-13
Tina Guberman, 2013-2015
JoJo Rubach, 2015-2018
Jodi Scherl, 2018-2021

Board of Advisors

Dr. Bernard Hammer
Margaret Kaplen
Dianne Nashel
Patricia Rosen